Elvis On CDFTD CDs

Spirit Of Jackson, MS

Spirit Of Jackson, MS - Elvis Presley CD FTD LabelSpirit Of Jackson, MS - Elvis Presley CD FTD Label Spirit Of Jackson, MS - Elvis Presley CD FTD Label Spirit Of Jackson, MS - Elvis Presley CD FTD Label Zoom
Three panel fold-out digipak

Title: Spirit Of Jackson, MS
Label: Follow That Dream (FTD)
Catalog number: 506020-975104 Follow That Dream Records / Sony Mucic Entertainment
UPC/EAN: 5060209751047
Matrix: CD 1: 506020-975104disc1 A0102764468-0102  12 A00  IFPI L552  IFPI 942P
CD 2: 506020-975104disc2 A0102764468-0202  13 A00  IFPI L553  IFPI 945R
Release date: 12/2016
Playing time: CD 1: 63:54
CD 2: 53:15
Recording type: Live Soundboard Recordings
Location:: Jackson / Mississippi, State Fair Coliseum
Date:  CD 1: September 5 - 1976, Evening Show
CD 2: June 9 - 1975, Evening  Show
Track listing: 
CD 1: September 5, 1976 - ES
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra       01:31
02 See See Rider       03:33
03 I Got A Woman - Amen       05:00
04 Love Me       01:43
05 Fairytale       02:42
06 You Gave Me A Mountain       03:04
07 All Shook Up       01:05
08 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel       02:27
09 And I Love You So       03:15
10 Jailhouse Rock       01:31
11 Fever       03:49
12 America, The Beautiful (with reprise)       02:50
13 Introductions       09:52
    Early Mornin' Rain
What'd I Say
Johnny B. Goode (part.)
Drum Solo (Ronnie Tutt)
Bass Solo (Jerry Scheff)
Piano Solo (Tony Brown)
Electric Piano Solo (David Briggs)
14 Love Letters / Introductions #2       02:57
15 Hurt (with reprise)       02:33
16 Hound Dog       01:30
17 Danny Boy (sung by Sherrill Nielsen)       03:32
18 That's All Right       02:17
19 Blue Christmas / Jingle Bells (instrumental excerpt)       01:43
20 How Great Thou Art       03:28
21 Can't Help Falling In Love       01:43
22 Closing Vamp       01:49
CD 2: June 9, 1975 - ES
01 Love Me       04:13
02 If You Love Me (Let Me Know) / Love Me Tender (intro only)       02:56
03 All Shook Up       01:06
04 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel       02:00
05 Hound Dog       01:19
06 The Wonder Of You       02:13
07 Polk Salad Annie       03:21
08 Intoductions       07:16
    Johnny B. Goode
Drum Solo (Ronnie Tutt)
Bass Solo (Jerry Scheff)
Piano Solo (Glen Hardin)
09 School Day       00:55
10 T-R-O-U-B-L-E       03:38
11 Why Me Lord       02:38
12 Let Me Be There       02:42
13 An American Trilogy       05:00
14 Funny How Time Slips Away       02:48
15 Mystery Train / Tiger Man       02:32
16 Help Me Make It Through The Night       01:58
17 Can't Help Falling In Love / Closing Vamp (part.)       01:49
18 Little Darlin' (Jackson, MS, June 8th - 1975 ES)       02:01
19 How Great Thou Art (Jackson, MS, June 8th - 1975 ES)       02:50


Notes:  CD 1: The last part of the introductions including the chorus of Chuck Berry's "School Day"' is missing
CD 2: The first three songs of the show were not recorded (Also Sprach Zarathustra, See See Rider and I Got A Woman / Amen).

Press note:
On May 5th 1975, Elvis performed a concert in aid of the McComb tornado victims at the State Fair Coliseum, Jackson, Mississippi. Elvis raised $108, 860 to help residents who were affected by the devastation. The audio for this show is damaged beyond repair.
However, "Sprit Of Jackson, MS" includes two other shows from the State Fair Coliseum.
Just over a month after the charity show, Elvis performed in Jackson again and this show is featured on the second disc. Disc 1 stays at the same venue for a concert given in September 1976.

Pressing note:  Also seen with matrix:
CD1: IFPI L552 506020-975104disc1 A0102764468-0102 12 A00 IFPI 942R
CD2: IFPI L553 506020-975104disc2 A0102764468-0202 13 A00 IFPI 942L
Concert:  The September 5, 1976 show once was chosen by Joan Dairy for being part of the "Golden Celebration" box. Now we know why.
It's a decent performance demonstrating that the King could still please his crowd in every sense. I would rate this concert as one of the best from this difficult year in the superstar's career.
We have an appealing set list with highlights like And I Love You So, America, The Beautiful or the incredible Hurt. Blue Christmas and That's All Right bring back golden memories and show that Elvis really could play the guitar quite well.
You can almost feel the fun Elvis and the band had this evening on stage.

FTD wanted to release the benefit show Elvis gave in Jackson on May 5, 1975. Unfortunately the tape is damaged and could not be used for release.
Therefore we get the performance from June 9, 1975. Also a fine concert from one of the best tours ever.
You can't go wrong with this one. Elvis live in the summer of 1975 in the Southern states is just pure stage entertainment. Lean back and listen to the concert and choose your own favourites. There are so many of them.

Thank you, Ernst and Co for another worthwhile addition to any live collecters' archive. (Ciscoking)